Tags

, ,

I get many questions from authors about publishing and promoting, so I decided to write an article about my experience in the hopes that it can help other authors. I write on the power of creativity, both for individual development and for social change. I use my books as a support for my workshops and seminars.

I have now 3 books on Kindle. My first book, “Parallel Mind, The Art of Creativity,” has been in print for about 2 years now. I put it into Kindle first. That was relatively easy. Here is the print version (all print books are also on Amazon and other booksellers):

Parallel Mind on Kindle.

Next, I put my recent title, “Pocket Parallel Mind,” a 365 inspirational day-quote book for creative people on Kindle. This was a formatting nightmare, both in the print version and the Kindle version, due to the design of the book — I made a page for each quote, and designed the print edition with beautiful large light gray initial caps. In the print edition, I ran into trouble because the quality of the interior pages wasn’t up-to-snuff with the default line screen (an abismal 120 ls for those design techies out there). So I had to “manually” fill every initial cap and gray text with a Photoshop-generated fill. This resulted in a very unusual and subtle effect which I like very much. Designers and other creative folks really like the look of this printed book. The final results can be only seen in the actual print, but you can get an idea here:

http://parallelmindzz.com/pocketparallelmind.html

I was able to approximate the design of Pocket Parallel Mind in Kindle by tweaking the code of the document. Of course, it can never be as beautiful as the print edition, but it costs the user a lot less. It looks really different than any other books on Kindle, though.

Pocket Parallel Mind on Kindle.

Next, I took my blog, and made a new book out of it. This was the easiest of the three books on Kindle. All I did was design the cover (I am a book designer too) and load the entire text into an HTML document with page breaks.

Celestial Navigation on Kindle.

However, the PDF version of Celestial Navigation is taking me much longer. Why? Because I have decided to illustrate it with my artwork–a painting per article. That is a huge task, but I am enjoying it.

Celestial Navigation in PDF format

Another LinkedIn user in a different group complains that he lost “thousands” of dollars with Kindle when they allowed users to share his book with other Kindle users. It seems that you cannot turn off the share option.

However, I view Kindle as a way to sell my print and my beautiful full-color books. So, I have made two advertising pages for my website with my books on the Kindle version: a page in the front of the book and another page in the back. The ad says something like: “If you like this book on Kindle, you should see it in full color (or in print).”

The other cool thing about Kindle is that you can update your book very quickly. I recommend that authors who have something to say try saying it as many ways as possible. If you have a very expensive book, then don’t put the whole thing on Kindle: instead put an “introductory” book to your information on Kindle, and use it as an advertisement for your actual book, which they buy directly from you on your website or on Amazon. If you have made a PDF version, the profits are 100% yours!

I write on creative development, and am a creative development coach. I help authors, designers, and other creative people achieve their dreams, whether it is to create a business, get published, or fulfill some other dream.

http://www.parallelmindzz.com
http://www.aliyahmarr.com
@parallelmind (twitter)

