When a dream takes hold of you, what can you do? You can run with it, let it run your life, or let it go and think for the rest of your life about what might have been.
—Patch Adams, M.D.

A few years ago, I lived in a condo complex where I met one of the people who changed my life. A quirky elderly white woman who loved to golf, but couldn’t play anymore, a devotee of Michael Jordan (she kept a full-length poster of him on her bedroom door, just like a teenager); she and I used to have long discussions about life. One day she gave me a few simple words of wisdom:

“Follow your star, wherever it leads you.”

It was a few years later, after the dot-com bubble burst and the business of design was in turmoil that I sat in meditation and asked myself, “What do I want to do now?”

I had come to New York to pursue a dual career as designer and artist. I had succeeded, and had reached the pinnacle of success in new media, but that dream was over. Where was my star?

As I meditated, it came to me that I needed to do something that I really wanted to do, whether logical or not. I needed a new star, but I didn’t know what that was yet. I was exhausted, and I couldn’t think of a logical solution to my dilemma. I didn’t know that this can be the best time to come up with something truly new: when it is obvious that you have tried all other logical avenues. Then, you can know what you want.

I listened to my intuition, came to California, and learned to surf. In the process, I gained more than I could have ever imagined. I found new friends, a new passion, I wrote a book, and am writing more. I found my new star.

Finding and following your star only requires two things from you:

1. Faith that you will find it.

2. The belief that your star will shine even on the darkest night.

Copyright 2009 Aliyah Marr

Share

