Sound of Longing Copyright 2001 Aliyah Marr

Sound of Longing Copyright 2001 Aliyah Marr

Every now and then I get it. If I can just drop more of my baggage, there would truly be no limits to what I can do or be. It is natural for us to be joyful creators; I don’t know about you, but I can’t create a new future if I am dragging around the past with me. We all do it: we have our memories, our “slings and arrows that flesh is prey to”, and even our prized prejudices that we cannot change.

How many of us define ourselves so well today that we don’t have a chance at changing our present. We do in in innumerable ways: I like this, I do that, I am this, I am not that. Who cares? All these things amount to is a belief system about ourselves and who we are.

In the end, most of us end up being merely a collection of personal preferences and a storehouse for painful or limiting experiences (or rather interpretations) of those experiences. For me, most of these preferences are just academic arguments in favor of our own limitations.

When I was in New York, I used to walk to the subway on 14th street. On the sidewalk somewhere between 6th and 8th avenue, there is a spray painted stencil that implored me to “Drop The Rock”. I have been told that the slogan references the politics of the penal system, which is certainly in line with my interpretation.

Dropping the rock is letting go of the past. It is not about forgiveness, or even about understanding, it is allowing the ego to become fluid, to allow the mind to “unclench” its hold on our spirit. It is not denial, it is not revision; rather it is surrender.

When you realize that no one is asking you to carry around your past experiences and preferences, beliefs, etc. you can finally drop that huge rock. Now doesn’t that make you feel light? Doesn’t that make you want to dance?

Copyright 2006 Aliyah Marr

Share

